Who is Coming to Dinner?

Who have you invited into your life?  I’m looking over some notes on Luke 15, preparing for “The Buried Life” message, and am being gut checked.  The chapter starts off with a motley crew of guests who were listening to Jesus speak, and the religious leaders are muttering, “This man (Jesus) welcomes sinners and eats with them.”

When it comes to being “good” we are taught keep our distance from the riff raft, however Jesus had called the “outcasts” to draw in close to converse with Him… and the religious leaders were disgusted at Jesus.

As I look back over the last several years of my life, I can’t say that I’ve had many meals with druggies, prostitutes, or any number of those our society identifies as… “lost causes”

Isn’t it interesting that it’s the lostness that gives cause for Jesus to draw in close…

Who are you inviting to dinner?

About Matt Boone

Matt Boone is the Student Pastor at Church by the Glades in Coral Springs, FL. Married to Summer Joy and they have a ginormous yellow field lab named Boomer.

Posted on April 19, 2010, in Leadership and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I love me some sinners because I can totally relate ;). This has become my personal theory of counseling-to be all things to all people, because that is what I believe Jesus & Paul did through their ministry. I have learned so many things through my conversations with “strangers”. They have all become resources as I walk and live along this journey, enabling me to consider the lives of others. So here’s to you and the possibilities of new relationships and teaching experiences!

    • so true Joycy. It’s so easy to become consumed with the community of our great Church, and to miss out on having community with our great south Florida community. trying to keep my eyes open for opportunities.

  2. I’ve invited many of these to dinner but never for the right reason. Now that I am saved they tend to not be in my life. If I invite them in again would this not be temptation like Jesus in the desert or would the holy spirit take the steering wheel once I get there? You gave me a lot to pray about. Awesome!

    • Keith totally not, but you do need to know yourself and your audience. Consider touching base and finding opportunities to share the new stuff that’s going on in your life. Honestly, the best testimony you can share is your life itself – your actions will do the talking! And the H.S. will totally take the wheel, He’s so great like that!! Thx for all you do at CBG!!

  3. Hey, Matt. I thought you might be in might be interested in this read:
    http://tenthavenuenorth.com/blog/2009/06/19/chapter-9-beloved/

Leave a comment